The short answer
In Indiana, the calculator treats your area as regular-snow (Indianapolis averages 25.5 inches a year), so closure odds reach about 50% at 6 inches of overnight snow — less with ice, extreme cold or snow falling between midnight and 6 a.m. It is an estimate, not an announcement from your district.
The calculator above is preset for Indiana. Indianapolis averages 25.5 inches of snow a year (1991–2020 normals), which puts Indiana in our regular-snow group. For a public school in an average suburban district, the model needs about 6 inches of overnight snow before the chance of a closure reaches 50%. Enter your ZIP code to load the National Weather Service forecast, or change the snow tolerance if your town gets much more or less snow than Indianapolis.
Indiana snow day facts at a glance
| Item | Indiana |
|---|---|
| Snow tolerance in the calculator | Regular (50% point: 6 in overnight) |
| Average yearly snowfall, Indianapolis | 25.5 in |
| Remote learning days for weather | Not verified |
| Remote-day limit | — |
| Minimum school year (days) | 180 |
| Minimum instructional hours | Not specified |
| Cold point used by the model | -25°F wind chill |
How much snow closes school in Indiana? (model estimate)
Computed with the calculator’s formula for a regular-snow area: public school, average district, no ice, no extreme cold, no timing boost.
| Overnight snow | Chance closed | Chance of a delay |
|---|---|---|
| 2 in | 3% | 22% |
| 3 in | 10% | 44% |
| 4 in | 21% | 51% |
| 6 in | 50% | 39% |
| 8 in | 72% | 23% |
| 10 in | 84% | 13% |
| 12 in | 90% | 8% |
Ice changes the picture quickly: in the model, 0.1 inch of freezing rain alone gives about 37% closure odds here, and 0.25 inch about 90%. A morning wind chill of -25°F gives 50% from cold alone. Heavy snow between midnight and 6 a.m. counts 25% more, because it is still falling when districts decide around 4–6 a.m.
Reported thresholds and cold-day policies in Indiana
These come from our snow day thresholds dataset. Most are news reports, so they describe policy as reported at the time, not necessarily today.
- Central Illinois and Indiana — Snow: About 3 inches. (news; source; CBS Chicago 2014 (summarizing crowdsourced map))
Remote learning days in Indiana
We have not verified Indiana’s rule on remote learning days for weather, so the calculator does not estimate a remote-day chance here. Your district calendar or handbook will say whether it uses remote or e-learning days.
Minimum school year in Indiana
The Education Commission of the States’ 2023 comparison lists these minimums for Indiana (they may not reflect later legislation):
- Days: 180
- Instructional hours: Not specified
Days lost to closures count against that minimum, which is why districts that use up their snow days typically add make-up days at the end of the year — and why remote-day rules matter.
Where to check official closures
Only your district can close school. Check its website, app or text and email alerts first. We don’t list district links for Indiana because we haven’t verified them; this page and its calculator are an estimate, not an announcement.
Frequently asked questions
How much snow does it take to close school in Indiana?
Can Indiana schools use remote learning instead of a snow day?
How many school days are required in Indiana?
Sources & method
- Snowfall normal for Indianapolis: climate table (1991–2020 normals, NOAA-sourced).
- Central Illinois and Indiana: news report.
- Instructional time: ECS 50-State Comparison, Instructional Time Policies (2023).
- Make-up days: Stacker via KVIA (2024).
- Model: our own estimate; method on the main snow day calculator page.
Data checked October 2026. Spotted an error? Tell us via the about page.
← Snow day calculator for any US ZIP code · How much snow does it take to close school? · Indiana school facts
